Field Trips

Camille

My son is in HS and attends a public performing arts school.  They are taking an overnight trip.   They did a similar trip last year.  Per his IEP a parent is permitted to attend all field trips.  The bottom line is that his anxiety and PTSD are so bad that he could never attend without a parent even given his age.  Last year I had to fight to attend the trip and pay extra for us to have a double occupancy room.  The total cost last year for both of us was around $1000.  The staff saw how my son needed me to help with his anxiety and admitted to being wrong to fight me.  

This year the trip for both of us is going to be over $3000.  This is a lot of money.  Being a teacher I know that most times chaperones go complementary for these trips per the travel agencies.  I also know that most museums/tourist attractions will not charge personal caregivers entrance fees.  

Since my attendance is listed in his IEP and necessary for his participation, I was wondering if there was any president for some or if all of the additional cost for me to attend could be waived.

I appreciate any advice.  (Bottom line I will do whatever is necessary for my son to attend this trip but I am attempting to avoid unnecessary debt.)

• Moderators

It might come down to a matter of semantics.  If the IEP states, as you do above, that the parent is "permitted" to attend all field trips, you may be out of luck.  "Permitted" does not necessarily imply that the school will pay for it.  However, if a parent attending a field trip is listed under accommodations as something that is necessary for the student to be able to attend field trips with his peers, then that accommodation (as any other would be) would have to be paid for by the school.  If this is not the exact wording in the IEP document, I would get that changed.  Because it does sound like this is a necessary accommodation.