Urgent Call for Action: Protecting Students with EBD in Educational Settings

My name is Carol Wilson, and I am a special education teacher deeply concerned about recent trends in educational placement practices for students with Emotional and Behavioral Disorders (EBD). I am reaching out to advocates to bring attention to a critical issue affecting the well-being and rights of students with EBD nationwide.

In recent years, there has been a concerning trend observed across many school districts: the placement of students with EBD in self-contained classrooms designed for students with significant cognitive disabilities without following proper due process procedures. This practice not only violates the rights of these students under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) but also places them at significant risk academically, socially, emotionally, and even physically.

Placing students with EBD in self-contained classes without holding a manifestation determination review (MDR) and without considering the individualized needs of these students is a gross violation of their rights. It denies them access to the least restrictive environment and fails to provide the necessary supports and services outlined in their Individualized Education Programs (IEPs). Furthermore, it can have detrimental effects on their academic progress, social interactions, emotional well-being, and physical safety, as well as that of the students appropriately placed in these settings.

Moreover, this practice also takes a toll on educators. Special education teachers who are tasked with managing classrooms with students who have significant cognitive disabilities face immense challenges when students with EBD are placed in these settings without appropriate support or training. The increased behavioral demands and potential for physical aggression or violence put educators at risk of burnout, injury, and compromised mental health.