Can school say deficits are not severe enough to qualify/warrant in-school therapy?

Laura P

Question

I keep being told that "just because a child is recommended private speech & occupational therapy doesn't mean that he will qualify for the services through school." 

I'm new to the IEP process and it's been a confusing year filled with misinformation from our school. Our son started speech therapy at 18 months old through (state) Early Intervention when he was referred by his pediatrician. At the time, he also was diagnosed with motor delay, adaptive delay, cognitive delay, and communication delay. At that time, he received speech therapy only because the program stated that ST was all they had funding to support. After one year, his services were discontinued when I was told the program ran out of funding. I didn't know then that what happened was not legal.