Understanding Test Results

Shannon

Question

We asked for my 7 year old to be evaluated for a Specific Learning Disability because of her struggles with reading.  Our district pretty much relies on the discrepency model.  We received the test results today for the the Woodcock Johnson, WISC and CTOPP.  We are meeting with the team on Thursday to go over the evaluations.  I'm not an expert, but looking at her reading scores on the Woodcock Johnson (in the 70s) vs. her full scale IQ (109) and her verbal comprehension on the WISC (106), this seems like it meets the discrepency model, but I would appreciate feedback from anyone who has a better understanding than me.  I've attached the scores for both the Woodcock/Johnson and the WISC.

20221219_092116.jpg

20221219_092030.jpg

5 answers to this question

First I want to just say I am just a mom who has done what I could to learn about testing but this is just my thoughts based on personal experience not professional knowledge....But in looking at the testing results I would start by focusing on the IQ testing...When I look at the individual domains there seems to be a lot of scatter....scatter is large jumps between scores. For example in the verbal domain your child has an 8 on similarities and a 14 on vocabulary...that is a 6 point spread! What it shows is your child has a HUGE vocabulary but comparatively struggles with similarities. But the BIG one for me is the processing spread....coding is a 12 but symbol is a 5...that is a 7 point spread and points to a potential concern in the area of the processing especially when you look at the total domain numbers and have one in the 114 and then processing is 92 which is 22 points apart which is a full stanine.